Market risks

The exposure of the bank to market risk is related to open positions in currency, rates and debt instruments that are sensitive to unfavourable changes in market prices. The market risk management system includes the establishment of limits on the level of exposure to such risks and daily control over compliance with the same.

The Management Board and the Assets and the Liabilities Management Committee (the ALMC) are responsible for the management of risks on a regular basis. The Treasury calculates, controls and manages market risks on a daily basis. The limits of individual risk per issuer are established by the Credit and Investment Committee, based on the proposal of the Treasury and on approval of the Management Board. The activities of the Treasury on risk management are also controlled by the Internal Control and Audit Service.

Regular stress-testing of market risk is conducted, which allows assessment of the sustainability of the portfolio of the bank’s assets to extreme events that could lead to abnormally large losses. The bank uses the methodology of the Bank of Russia #387-P dated September 28, 2012 “On the calculation of the market value of risk procedure of credit institutions” for the purpose of market risk calculations.
Market risk includes securities, currency and interest rate risks.

Securities Risk

While the bank is involved in operations with securities (including Russian issued shares and their ADRs and GDRs), this activity is not a priority. The applied system of restricting securities related risk includes limits on the security portfolio (including REPO operations) as well as individual sub-portfolios, as well as active limits on the trading portfolio. Given the limited size of exposure to securities risk, we believe that the methodology of the Bank of Russia #387-P dated September 28, 2012 “On the calculation of the market value of risk procedure of credit institutions” is a sufficient one for assessment of the bank’s securities related risk.

Structure of the securities portfolio

Currency Risk

The main method of assessing and controlling currency risk is the calculation of the open currency positions. To assess the risk associated with maintaining open positions in foreign currencies, we use the methodology of the Bank of Russia.

The bank adheres to a conservative currency policy, seeking to limit currency risk by minimizing open positions. Special attention is paid to the quality of assets denominated in foreign currency, and, above all, the quality of the loan portfolio.

The bank manages currency risk by ensuring maximum possible consistency between the currency of its assets and the currency of its liabilities by currency within established limits. The Assets and Liabilities Management Committee sets limits on the level of exposure by currency and in total for both overnight and intra-day positions.
The assessment of the impact of currency risk on the bank’s capital is based on the methodology set forth in the Regulations of the Bank of Russia # 387-P dated September 28, 2012 “On the calculation of the market value of risk procedure of credit institutions”, and on the internal Regulations “On the procedure of calculating the size of market risks of Vozrozhdenie Bank”.

We estimate the bank’s exposure to currency risk in 2013 as low, since the total value of open currency positions in selected foreign currencies, as well as selected precious metals, did not exceed 2% of core capital, which is significantly below the limits set by the Bank of Russia (20%).

Interest rate risk

The bank’s Financial Plan for the year defines the general parameters of interest rate risk management. The Management Board and the ALMC are responsible directly for the management of interest rate risk. The key methods for reducing interest rate risk include balancing assets and liabilities according to interest re-pricing dates, maturities, as well as regular (no less frequent than quarterly) review of rates. The Management Board of the bank makes decisions on the revisions of interest rates.

Regular stress-testing is conducted to assess interest rate risks, which allows the estimation of potential losses in the case of unfavourable changes in the conditions of the key risk factors.

Gap analysis is used to assess the potential interest rate risk on client operations relating to loans and deposits; for the trading portfolio of securities, the methodology of the Bank of Russia #387-P dated September 28, 2012 “On the calculation of the market value of risk procedure of credit institutions” is used.

Рыночный риск

Подверженность банка рыночному риску связана с открытыми позициями по валютным, процентным и долевым инструментам, которые чувствительны к риску неблагоприятного изменения рыночных цен. Система управления рыночным риском включает установление лимитов в отношении уровня принимаемого риска и ежедневный контроль за их соблюдением.

Управление и контроль за рисками на регулярной основе осуществляет Правление банка и Комитет по управлению активами и пассивами (КУАП). На ежедневной основе рассчитывает, контролирует и управляет рыночным риском Казначейство. Лимиты индивидуального риска на эмитента устанавливаются решениями Кредитно-инвестиционного комитета по предложению Казначейства и утверждаются Правлением банка. Деятельность Казначейства по управлению рисками также контролируется Службой внутреннего контроля и аудита.

На регулярной основе проводится стресс-тестирование рыночных рисков, позволяющее оценить устойчивость портфеля активов банка к «экстремальным» событиям, способным привести к аномально большим убыткам. Для расчета рыночного риска банк использует методику Положения Банка России № 387-П от 28 сентября 2012 года «О порядке расчета кредитными организациями величины рыночного риска».
Рыночный риск включает в себя фондовый, валютный и процентный риски.

Фондовый риск

Банк осуществляет операции с фондовыми ценными бумагами (акции российских эмитентов, а также ADR и GDR на них), однако данное направление деятельности не является для нас приоритетным. Применяемая система ограничений фондового риска включает лимиты по портфелю ценных бумаг (включая операции РЕПО) и отдельным субпортфелям, входящим в его состав, и результативные лимиты по торговому портфелю ценных бумаг. Учитывая ограниченный предельный размер вложений в акции, мы считаем достаточным для оценки фондового риска использование методики Положения Банка России № 387-П от 28 сентября 2012 года «О порядке расчета кредитными организациями величины рыночного риска».

Структура портфеля ценных бумаг

Валютный риск

Основным методом оценки и контроля за валютным риском является расчет открытых валютных позиций. Для оценки риска, связанного с поддержанием открытых позиций в иностранных валютах, мы используем методику Банка России.

Банк придерживается консервативной валютной политики, стремясь ограничить уровень принимаемого валютного риска путем поддержания минимального возможного уровня открытых позиций. При этом особое внимание уделяется качеству активов, номинированных в инвалюте, и, прежде всего, качеству кредитного портфеля.
Управление валютным риском банк осуществляет централизованно, это позволяет контролировать допустимый уровень валютного риска и обеспечивать максимально возможное соответствие между валютой его активов и валютой его обязательств по видам валют в установленных пределах. Комитет по управлению активами и пассивами устанавливает лимиты в отношении уровня принимаемого риска в разрезе валют и в целом, как на конец каждого дня, так и в пределах одного дня.
Оценка влияния валютного риска на капитал осуществляется на основе методики, изложенной в Положении Банка России № 387-П от 28 сентября 2012 года «О порядке расчета кредитными организациями величины рыночного риска», и внутреннего Положения «О порядке расчета Банком „Возрождение“ размера рыночных рисков».

Мы оцениваем подверженность банка валютному риску в течение 2013 года как невысокую, поскольку общая величина открытых валютных позиций в отдельных иностранных валютах и отдельных драгоценных металлах не превышала 2% собственных средств (капитала), что существенно меньше предельного значения, установленного Банком России (20%).
В условиях возросшей волатильности валютных курсов мы продолжаем активно осваивать и развивать технологии хеджирования валютных рисков для собственных целей, а также в течение года сможем предложить их своим клиентам.

Процентный риск

Общие параметры управления процентным риском определяются Финансовым планом банка на год. Непосредственное управление процентным риском осуществляет Правление банка и КУАП. Основными методами снижения процентного риска выступают балансировка активов и пассивов по срокам пересмотра процентных ставок и срокам погашения, а также регулярный (не реже одного раза в квартал) пересмотр действующих ставок. Решение о пересмотре ставок принимается Правлением банка.

На регулярной основе проводится стресс-тестирование риска процентной ставки, позволяющее оценить возможные убытки при неблагоприятном изменении основных риск-факторов.

Для оценки процентного риска по кредитно-депозитным операциям с клиентами используется ГЭП-анализ; по торговому портфелю ценных бумаг — методика Положения Банка России № 387-П от 28 сентября 2012 года «О порядке расчета кредитными организациями величины рыночного риска».